should I sterilize my Internet presence for travel to high-security countries?

This topic contains 0 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  jake.beard 4 years, 1 month ago.

• Author

jake.beard
    I am a newly elected missions pastor and am looking for resources for questions that I have.
    One very simple question is about
    security. We have several missionaries in different countries where
    security is a concern. As a church we have committed to visit our friends
    on the field at least once every 18 months. I have heard that if you are
    going to be visiting someone on the field in a “closed” country or at least
    countries that are hostile to the gospel, then you should sterilize your
    internet presence. I’m just wandering what is your take on this. I have
    several online profiles such as Facebook, twitter, and Linkedin. Should I
    keep those sterile and mention nothing about being a missions pastor and or
    missions in general? Thanks in advance for any insights you may provide,

Jake

Propempo
    Keymaster

Jake –

It’s a pleasure for me to answer your question.

To the question:

Yes, it is wise to take a close look at your Internet presence.
    I, too, function as the Missions Pastor at our church, besides our regular Propempo International ministries.
    See:  https://propempo.com

If you don’t have plans for a long-term presence in a creative access country yourself, you don’t have to be as concerned.
    You are, after all, probably entering the country as a tourist status and not staying for long periods of time.

We have found it helpful to let Facebook and LinkedIn (and Instagram, Google+, Twitter, WhatsApp, Vine, etc.) friends and circles know about the seriousness of the ministry security issues.
    We do not post Bible verses, Christian music links/videos, local church links, and such just willy-nilly all the time.